ALBUM REVIEW – Beach House – “Teen Dream” (Sub Pop – 2010)

February 1, 2010

Rating: 3.5/5

I first heard the music of Beach House in September 2007 when I saw them live at the London Ontario Live Arts festival in my hometown of London, Ontario.  At that time, my opinion of them was that they had a great sound but their songs were very boring.  That basically remained as my opinion of them up until two weeks ago when I gave Teen Dream its second and third listens.  At that time, it became clear that great sound that I loved so much had finally found some great tunes to go with it.  Beach House really haven’t changed their sound on Teen Dream.  However, I can easily say that I enjoy any one of these ten songs more than anything they have done in the past.  I’m not exactly sure what it is I like so much about these songs, but there is a very dreamlike quality that sucks me in.  This is such a breezy, relaxing album.  It’s hard not to enjoy.  There are a few moments on the record that seem to lose me, but it’s never long before I’m right back into it again.  I’m sure now I will revisit some of their past material and find things I like about it.  Whether that will be the case or not, Teen Dream has brought me to the Beach House camp either way.

Leave a Reply

